Keeping UP With the Deadlanders

I’ve gotten the OK from my publisher to announce the official acceptance of my first young adult horror novel, Keeping Up With the Deadlanders. The project originally began as a short story that eventually ended up at Fantastichorror.com. Even when it was being written, I had no plans to do anything with it. However, once I got into the website and started interacting with the good folks over there, I decided to submit it. They soon published it online. I also had some friends read it and enjoy. That spurred me to write a second tale for the website. Again, good reception gave me the fuel to keep going. Before I knew it, the three tales became four. Four became five. Doc Pus at The Library of The Living Dead expressed interest in the tales.  At the time, I knew that I was going for a novel but it wasn’t complete (and I still had some time at Fantastic Horror…first rights for  year). I told him I would give it to him once I was done. In November, I gave it to him and he agreed to take under the newly formed Little Library of the Living Dead banner.

I couldn’t have done this without the support from my family, friends, and online writing cohorts. I also owe a great deal of thanks both Fantastic Horror and Doc Pus for believing in me as to take my work. The novel is still some way away from seeing print, but that is how the publishing game is.

Here is a brief synopsis:

Famine is like any other teen ager. He’s trying to make friends, fit in, and figure out his place in life. The only difference is that he’s been dead for over two hundred fifty years. It doesn’t help that he’s in a family of Death Omens and Soul Collectors, either. His father is the grandaddy of all symbols of death and dying, The Grim Reaper, and his mother is La Llorona, the Weeping Woman of Hispanic folklore. When he joins his Uncle Ankou, the Breton personification of Death, for jaunty soul collection rides, things get a lot more interesting. Famine soon discovers that Death is just as exciting and thrilling as life as he meets an array of strange, and sometimes dangerous, beings.

I look forward to seeing this and I hope that I can find a fan base. I am very attached to the characters and would love to see them loved as much as I love them

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

